top of page

How We Met: Annalise's Side of the Story

Updated: Mar 12, 2019

Get to know me (Annalise) and my relationship a little, with this introduction to my version of how Robbie and I met.



Just Married: The Mitchells - a picture from our super romantic, chic farm wedding.

Annalise - Who I was


21 years old, I was just starting my "real" adult life. I was somewhat of a party girl, house parties were a weekend activity by that point and bars and clubs were accessible even before I was the legal drinking age. But, I was finally at the legal drinking age and could get into the clubs and bars without sneaking in now. However, I found myself slowly moving away from that scene. Limiting my appearances to only special occasions or when the homegirls harassed me to come out.


Honestly, looking back on it, I knew I was ready for a serious relationship and I had come to a realization that the type of dude I wanted to be serious with, wouldn't be in a the club, bars or house parties. DUH.


The Situation


I had a friend, we will call her M, who obviously could feel that I wasn't feeling the party scene anymore. And she definitely heard me bitch enough about wanting a good guy, and how I had no interest going out anymore or around the same dudes, because I knew the man I wanted to be with wouldn't be out prowling the town.


I remember her saying something like, "I have this reeeeally cute guy friend. He's a football player." *insert Annalise eyeroll here* (Already dated enough college athletes)


"He's three years younger than you though." *Insert another Annalise eyeroll.* (And he's young? That means extra immature.)


"BUT, he's a gentleman, and he just broke up with his gf. But like really he is a gentleman, and I KNOW, I KNOW you will love him. He's just your type."


In between that you could only imagine what I had to say. They included phrases like, "hell no", "not interested", "He's young? Hell no again." "He just got out of a relationship? no thanks." and so on.


She didn't care though, she proceeded to shove her phone in my face with a picture of him on his Twitter account. Whelp, in a matter of 4 minutes, the kid had himself a new follower. *Face palm* , but to my surprise he was already following me.... AND had already favorited a few of my tweets and pictures. Guess, M made her rounds, starting with him!


Instantly, the favoriting and subtweeting wars proceeded between Robbie and I. Although, we were active on each other's twitter accounts, neither of us reached out to get the others number or to hang out, we kept it all on the twitter feed.


Well, M wasn't having the twitter only interaction, and like any reasonable friend, she decided to set us up.


The Set Up


M worked solely with Robbie's best friend, we'll call him G, to set us up. Unbeknownst to me, (and Robbie), I was invited to come hangout after I got off work, to meet up with G and M at G's house. This wasn't an uncommon request for me to go to G's house to hangout, in fact, almost all our hangouts happened at his house. I show up like regular and there they are, G and M hanging out in the back on the lawn chairs. I invited myself to a seat next to M where we began our regular small talk.


During our conversation, Robbie came up, and M jokingly said, "I'm going to invite him over." Freaking out in real life, I screamed at her not to and that I wasn't even ready, so I couldn't meet him. I continued to make a comment that, he wouldn't like me, I'm not his type because I am thick and he probably preferred skinnier girls. Looking at me in complete disbelief, G said, "Nah, trust me, you're definitely his type." Slightly awkward because I spoke out of place, I lightened the mood by making a joke, like I always do. I said, "well, if he does show up I'm going to call him BD, short for Baby Daddy."


Not even minutes later, Robbie walked through the back gates. Like her usual self causing me pain, M screams out, "Hey BD!" Robbie, confused by what he was just called, went to ask what that meant, only to be cut off by G. I was so shy, in shock and blushing, I couldn't even look him in the face. Overwhelmed with a crush, I extended my arm saying, "Hi, I'm Annalise. I think we follow each other on twitter." Awkward... why am I like this? (The best part..... I came to find out that Robbie thought it was awkward too, LOL.)

Thrown off guard again, but this time with my awkward comment, Robbie responded with, "Hi, I'm Robbie and yeah.... I think we do." My awkwardness must have not been too much of a turn off though, because immediately Robbie probed me with questions, asking how me and M met, who I was, what I did for work and so on.


Completely enamored with how he looked, and DANG, he looked gooood. And with how he smelled (girls you know what I'm sayin'.) and the fact that he wanted to know and learn so much about me, I kept spilling out facts and opinions, hoping to grab his interest. I quite frankly, was drooling all over myself, he was too gorgeous.


As the night came to an end, and I was heading out, Robbie asked if he could walk me out to my car. Once again, enamored completely with him and his easy ways, I shyly allowed him to. Inside though, giiiiirl, I was freeeaking out. Like whaaa?! But in my head I was like, "Yup, He's feeling me for sure."


At the car he gave me a hug and I could feel the kissing vibes hit. But, being the gentleman he is, he skipped the kiss and went on to say that he enjoyed meeting me. He went onto ask if, he could have my number AND take me out on a date. Obviously, I took him up on both!



Here we are Today


And... here we are now, 5 years later, what do they say..... the rest is history?

Let me get real though, I find myself reflecting on my life before Robbie, and I can whole heartedly say, he saved me from a point in my life where I was spiraling out of control, and he became my anchor. He has been the one constant in my life, no matter rain or shine with our lives and relationship, and I am so blessed to have a partner like him.



47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page