top of page

Work Fit: T-shirt Series Pt. 1

How to incorporate your favorite everyday tees into your work outfits.


Shirt: Romwe - Amazon https://amzn.to/2Tvjt0b, Skirt: Oodji - Amazon https://amzn.to/2ChBjt0, Shoes: Qupid - Amazon https://amzn.to/2XQ2zI3

 

The Tee


Ahhh, the t-shirt, also known as the most comfortable piece of cotton fabric a human chooses to wear. Whether it's brand new with that crisp smell, or your grandpa's shirt that was passed around via "the whoever's drawer its in this week", you can't go wrong with a good t-shirt. In this little series of t-shirts, you'll see me compile the simplest, busiest, trendiest and bold tshirts into wearable work outfits. Continue reading to find out how you can break down your tshirt work outfits with 1 simple step.


How to Pick the shirt and skirt combo


Depending on the look you're going for, you'll want to decide whether you'd like the tshirt or bottom half of your outfit to do the talking.


I like my shirt to usually be my main focus when I am mixing my tees, unless I'm mixing prints. (I'll share some mixed print tee and skirt outfits soon.)


In my photo above, you can see I allowed my tshirt to be my point of focus. By choosing a bright colored accent striped shirt with a very basic ribbed grey knit skirt, I allowed the attention to be drawn to my shirt. And like duhhhh, it's too cute NOT to draw the attention. By adding the bright accent tee, you find your eyes shifting directly to my shirt which is, like I said where I wanted the focus to be!


Styling Tips


1. Simple tee + bold pant/skirt = allows the bottom half to be the focus. (you can add a trendy feel by mixing in a text print shirt with your palazzo or patterned skirt)


2. Busy tee + bold pant/skirt = mixed patterns, keep the dominant colors in both equal (red floral skirt + red print tee)


3. Simple tee + simple pant/skirt = minimalist look, very clean and makes the top and bottom come together as a whole. (Stick with beiges, whites, and blacks. Add a street style feel by adding a busy tshirt to cropped or pleated slacks.)


Mix and Match


Now that you have the basics and starting styling tips for your everyday tees, get to it! Don't be scared to mix and match styles. This is the era or weird, quirky and trendy fashion, so don't be scared to step outside your comfort zone because you'll only look SUPER fashionable doing it!



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page